Blog

Illegal Late Fee & Security Deposits

A: Your late fee should be no more than 6% of the monthly rent. For example, if your tenant pays $1,250 in rent per month, then you may charge up to 6% of $1,250 as a late fee, which is $75. Your Lease also gives you the option to write in a flat fee,...

read more

Roomates & Unauthorized Occupants

First, you will need to review your lease or rental agreement with this tenant. As a landlord, you may include a clause in your lease or rental agreement that authorizes or prohibits your tenant from having a roommate. If you allow your tenant to have a...

read more

Storing Personal Property

Since the tenant gave you possession of the property, you may consider the items abandoned. You must serve a notice of right to reclaim abandoned property itemizing the personal property left by the tenant and keep the items for at least 15 days if...

read more

Day Care Business

No, you cannot prohibit your tenants from starting the day care. Under California law, houses, condos, and apartment units may be used to run a small family day care business. These laws were passed in order to make childcare more readily available for working parents...

read more

Free Consultation

To schedule a free consultation, simply fill out the following form. Someone from our office will be in touch within one business day.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Illegal Late Fee & Security Deposits

A: Your late fee should be no more than 6% of the monthly rent. For example, if your tenant pays $1,250 in rent per month, then you may charge up to 6% of $1,250 as a late fee, which is $75. Your Lease also gives you the option to write in a flat fee,...

read more

Roomates & Unauthorized Occupants

First, you will need to review your lease or rental agreement with this tenant. As a landlord, you may include a clause in your lease or rental agreement that authorizes or prohibits your tenant from having a roommate. If you allow your tenant to have a...

read more

Storing Personal Property

Since the tenant gave you possession of the property, you may consider the items abandoned. You must serve a notice of right to reclaim abandoned property itemizing the personal property left by the tenant and keep the items for at least 15 days if...

read more

Day Care Business

No, you cannot prohibit your tenants from starting the day care. Under California law, houses, condos, and apartment units may be used to run a small family day care business. These laws were passed in order to make childcare more readily available for working parents...

read more

Free Consultation

To schedule a free consultation, simply fill out the following form. Someone from our office will be in touch within one business day.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

No Results Found

The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.